Classyredhead's Blog

My Crazy Life!

Minding Your P’s and Q’s! July 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — classyredhead @ 3:13 am
Tags: , ,

Manners…. Saying “Please”, Thank You”, “You’re Welcome” are just a few things that come to mind when I think of manners. Just a few simple words that can make all the difference to the person that you are addressing. It seems to me that in our culture good manners are being pushed aside while bad manners are becoming the norm. I had a friend that asked for my help and didn’t bother to say please, but I did it regardless. After I completed the favor and got back to her with the information she never acknowledged me or said thank you. When asked if the info got to her all she said was yes. I never mind helping someone out when they are unable to do something for themselves, but I hate when people refuse to exercise good manners. To me they are saying that they are entitled to what they asked you to do for them, not that you are doing it out of kindness. How can we expect the next generation to carry these manners on if we do not use them ourselves? Do we really want to live in a culture where everyone is rude and no one ever makes you feel apprecitated for something that you do? We really need to take a step back and examine how we treat others and how it effects those around us. I even say “please” and “thank you” to my five year old. My kids in return say these things to others. Parents, it is time that we step up and teach our children and others that rudeness is not acceptable! I am going to stop helping others that never show appreciation until they see that I am not here for their convience!

 

Leave a Reply

